Außengebäude und Eingang der EWE-Konzernzentrale

The management of the EWE Group

The Group is managed by EWE AG as the holding company. The Board of Management of EWE AG heads the business areas and is responsible for EWE’s strategy.

Board of Management
Portrait von Stefan Dohler
Stefan Dohler Chief Executive Officer
Foto: Sebastian Vollmert

Current Position
Stefan Dohler is Member of the Board of Management since January 2018.
Stefan Dohler started his career in 1998 at the Hamburg energy supplier HEW, one of the predecessor companies of Vattenfall. Since then, he has held a number of leadership positions in the areas of finance, networks, products and markets. In 2012 he became a member of the Executive Management Team of the Vattenfall Group. Most  recently he was CFO of Vattenfall AB in Stockholm, Sweden.
Master of Science (Dipl.-Ing) in aviation and aerospace technology,  Master of Business Administration (MBA).

Stefan Dohler, born in 1966, comes from Cochem on the Moselle.

Dr. Christian Friege
Dr. Christian Friege Chief Sales Officer
Foto: Mohssen Assanimoghaddam

Current Position
Christian Friege has been on the Board of Management of EWE AG since 1 March 2023.

Christian Friege began his career in 1995 with Bertelsmann AG in Gütersloh. After holding positions in New York and London, he moved to the Management Board of Debitel in 2005, where he was responsible for customer relations.

From 2007 onwards, he also worked occasionally as an independent corporate consultant and interim manager.

In 2008, Christian Friege became Chief Executive Officer of Hamburg-based energy supplier Lichtblick. In 2015, he moved to photographic service provider CEWE in Oldenburg, where he became Director of Sales in 2016 and, additionally, Chairman of the Management Board in 2017.
qualified banker, graduate in business administration, doctorate in marketing

Christian Friege, born in 1966, was born in Lübeck. 

Dr. Urban Keussen
Dr. Urban Keussen Chief Technical Officer
Foto: Sebastian Vollmert

Current Position
Urban Keussen joined the Board of Management of EWE AG in March 2018.
Keussen began his career in 1993 at E.ON predecessor Preussen Elektra, joining E.ON NETZ via merger as Head of the Network Technology Division. From 2003 to 2010 he served as Managing Director of E.ON NETZ, following which he led the E.ON Group Technology and Innovation Division. In 2014 he joined transmission system operator TenneT as Deputy Chairman of the Executive Board of TenneT Holding B.V and Chairman of the Management Board of the German subsidiary TenneT TSO GmbH.
PhD in Applied Physics

Urban Keussen, born in 1964, comes from Bonn.

Wolfgang Mücher
Wolfgang Mücher Chief Financial Officer
Foto: Sebastian Vollmert

Current Position
Wolfgang Mücher has been on the Board of Management of EWE AG since March 2016.
Wolfgang Mücher initially worked in various positions at the resident Bayerischen Hypotheken- and Wechselbank after studying in Munich. In 1999 he became Managing Director of Horstmann Group to Bielefeld. In 2001 the change to the Edeka Minden-Hannover followed, where he served first as Commercial Director of the subsidiary Otto Reichelt AG in Berlin. 2006 Mücher was appointed Chief Financial Officer of the Group and was responsible for the department until May 2015. Last Mücher consulted for the Munich company Demps & Partner companies in strategic and commercial issues.

Degree in business administration

Wolfgang Mücher, born in 1960, comes from Essen.

Marion Röwekamp
Marion Rövekamp Chief Human Resources Officer and Legal Affairs
Foto: Sebastian Vollmert

Current Position
Marion Rövekamp has been on the Board of Management of EWE AG since May 2018.
Marion Rövekamp started her career at the Deutsche Telekom group in 1990. She worked in a number of roles during her time there, including as Head of HR at various branches. In her last role at the company, she was responsible for the global management of the “People Development and Culture” department at T-Systems.

From 2005 to 2011, Marion Rövekamp was a managing partner at taxo management consulting GmbH. While at the company, she was appointed the interim Head of Change Management for the “Regio Sustainability” programme at DB Regio in 2009.

She moved to DB AG in 2011 as Board of Management member for HR at DB Regio AG and Head of HR for Passenger Transport at DB Mobility Logistics AG. In this role, she reported directly to the Group’s HR board and the business area board members at DB Regio, and was responsible for the entire spectrum of HR policy issues on a national level.
Fully-qualified lawyer
  Marion Rövekamp, born 1961, comes from Berlin.

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board of EWE AG comprises political, business, union and employee representatives. It advises the Board of Management and monitors its work.

The current members of EWE AG’s Supervisory Board are as follows:

Name Position Location
Bernhard Bramlage
Chairman of the Supervisory Board,
Former District Administrator
Carsten Hahn
First Deputy Chairman,
Technical clerk of EWE NETZ GmbH
Heiner Schönecke Second Deputy Chairman,
Member of the Landtag of Lower Saxony
Neu Wulmstorf
Johann Wimberg Third Deputy Chairman,
Chief Administrative Officer of the Cloppenburg District
Dr. Andreas Radmacher Fourth Deputy Chairman,
Managing Director R3AMP GmbH
Christian Blömer Head of Department, Group Communications and Brand Bad Zwischenahn
Henning R. Deters Chief Executive Officer of Gelsenwasser AG  Essen
Sigrid Flegel Commercial Clerk of swb Vertrieb Bremen GmbH Bremen
Frank Gawrischtschuk Chairman of the Works Council of swb Erzeugung AG & Co. KG
Lars Giegling Sales Trader / Graduate geologist, business economist
Aloys Kiepe  Pensioner Emden
Jürgen Krogmann Mayor of the City of Oldenburg Oldenburg
Jürgen Franz Löcke Managing Director of the Association of Savings Banks in Lower Saxony          Barsinghausen
Immo Schlepper Head of Department of ver.di for the Lower Saxony-Bremen region Oldenburg
Ulrike Schlieper Health care quality manager Sande
Paul Schneider Qualified Engineer of EWE GASSPEICHER GmbH Oldenburg
Dr. Daniel Graf von der Schulenburg Senior Managing Director / Head of Ardian Infrastructure
Germany, Benelux & Northern Europe
Vera Visser Trade Secretary of ver.di for the Weser-Ems District Bremen
Herbert Winkel Managing Director EWE-Verband / Former District Administrator
Ingo Wührmann Chairman of the Works Council of EWE VERTRIEB GmbH, central area Stadland